George Michael. Last Christmas

This year, it was the Last Christmas for an international pop icon George Michael, who passed away on December 25, 2016.

george-michael-3

“And the wounded skies above say it’s much too late
Well maybe we should all be praying for time”

gm

George Michael has influenced a lot of artists and it’s he who made supermodels of the 90s SUPERmodels and superstars with his music videos ‘Freedom 90’ and ‘Too Funky’.

I’ve been listening to George since early childhood, and two above-mentioned videos (and songs, obviously) have always been my favourites.

ss86gcin3qeI can’t imagine the 80s and 90s without George Michael’s music: ‘Faith’, ‘Father Figure’, ‘I Want Your Sex’… What is summer without ‘Club Tropicana’ and ‘Careless Whisper’ or winter without ‘Last Christmas’?! I must confess, in Ukraine the latter isn’t just a Xmas song, it’s also a New Year’s Eve song. We can’t get enough of it. So, when I heard it at the supermarket in my home city Kiev yesterday several times in a row, it was a bittersweet moment. At that time, I felt that Ukrainians like and remember George, and I’m not the only one who’s missing him.

I’m an old fan of George Michael, so now I’ll cherish all my CDs and DVDs with his songs and videos even more. I particularly like ‘George Michael Twenty-five’. If you don’t have this video compilation, go get it! There are numerous vids, including Wham! ones and with Aretha Franklin, Elton John, Queen, Whitney Houston, and Mary J. Blige. Talking about collaborations, George was perfect during Freddie Mercury Tribute Concert and Live Aid. As has been revealed this week, he spent millions pounds on charity without advertising it, in secret, and that gesture speaks volumes about him! George Michael was a kind person and amazingly talented artist, that’s why so many people liked him and, I’m sure, will continue being loyal fans or, at least, admirers of him and his music.

_93125975_liveaidap

Even though it’s been almost a week since George Michael’s passing, I still can’t get enough of his music and I’m also re-reading ‘Older. The Unauthorized Biography of George Michael’ by Nicholas and Tim Wapshott. I recommend this book to all the (old and new) fans of George: a lot of interesting facts and stories + some nice pictures as well.

img_5029

img_5028

Rest in peace, George. You will be deeply missed!

Thank you for your huge music legacy!

mi0001399964

(c) Mariana Shevchenko

Leave a Reply

