Depeche Mode in Kiev. Part 2

On this day, June 29, 2013, was one of the best concerts I’ve ever been at:

Depeche Mode in Kiev

at the NSC Olympic (Olimpiiskyi) Stadium

865733

1st row: me in the centre (between 2 girls wearing white t-shirts/tops)

That wasn’t my first DM concert (they visited my home city in February 2010; see my blog post here) but that was a day to remember! This gig is on my top 5 list of my best concerts, for sure.

Everything started quite scary from the point of view of a concert-goer. The evening before the concert, there was a pouring rain in Kiev, and yes, the lightning was there too! So, I was really anxious that it’d continue on the following day as long as Depeche Mode were to play at the Olympic Stadium, which doesn’t have the roof! Just the image in my head of me waiting in the pouring rain for approx. 4 hours near the Stadium gates and then for another 3.5 hours of the gig freaked me out! But… The magic does exist! When I woke up the following day, the rain was over, puddles dried up, the sky was grey but the weather didn’t show the slightest hint of the ‘apocalypse’ of the night before. So, I crossed my fingers, packed my raincoat and went to the Stadium, praying for better weather, at least better than on the day before.

While I was waiting in line right by the gates among other people with whom I’d be entering the venue first, I met some great people, who were big Depeche Mode fans too, and we didn’t even notice how the sun came out and the time flew.

I will never forget those stairs, which led to the top of the Stadium (the gig organisers were big jokers – how could they make people of the VIP fan-zone, like me and my new friends, run across the square in front of the Stadium, up the stairs to the top of the Stadium outside and then down to the stage inside?!?).

Well, anyway, my friends and I got to the point of destination somehow – the spot right by the stage. With some huge luck, I managed not only to run around the Stadium and then down the stairs in the sectors with seats but even to find myself a spot in the 1st row right in front of Dave Gahan! I was in heaven!

30222970

At first, there was warming-up, as always, which, frankly, I really enjoyed. An American DJ Matthew Dear gave the great and stylish performance (and even replied to my tweet afterwards, which was very nice of him).

10658_134349_1372658484

me – 2nd from the right

But when half an hour later, Dave, Martin and Andy went on stage, I quickly forgot about tiredness and thirst because I was standing at arm’s length from them, the people I grew up listening to and admiring! I saw every single Dave’s tattoo, every single Martin’s spangle (which he had all over him – on the face, clothes, guitar…) and every Andy’s funny face expression during the performance.

Oh, and when Dave looks you right into the eyes, winks and sends you a kiss, it’s just something unspeakable!!!

865733

51d149417f328

dd025

1373006307_2013kyivdm-76_900px_c

The day after the concert, June 30, I was lucky to meet Andy Fletcher and have a little chit-chat. What a nice guy!

IMG_0185 (2)

IMG_0194 (2)

Depeche Mode played an astonishing amount of songs: 23! Everybody was having so much fun that we even didn’t notice how the time flew. I’d say that about 80% of the setlist were their hits, and that was great ’cause that means that DM know what their fans like and would like to hear – the songs they grew up to or just time-proved hits, unlike some bands and performers who want to advertise their new songs so much that drop the most part of famous songs from their setlists.

JocQ5nhtndc

oHW-f5yfR6o

1044684_537127249685084_1812547617_nWhat I still remember vividly, even 3 years after that Depeche Mode concert, is standing in the first row, when ventilating fans blow cool air, the staff hand around bottles with water, and I enjoy my favourite Depeche Mode songs with the rest of the crowd throughout the concert, and then closer to the end, when the sun had set down, all of us, approx. 70 0000 people singing ‘Home‘ along with Martin. Pure magic that just can’t be forgotten! As well as that sea of hands during ‘Never Let Me Down Again‘! And never, not for a single moment, did I feel any pressure of the crowd on the 1st row, as it happens rather often.

17__145_720x0

1372669282_e83a0b2c4454de5

eQmsuM6fUE0

The concert was just us, 70 000 people + 3 very special ones (Dave, Martin, Andy), having the best time of our lives!

If you’ve never felt anything like that, I highly recommend going to Depeche Mode concert when they are on tour next time!

Depeche Mode in Kiev, June 29, 2013, Kiev Olympic Stadium. Setlist (my personal super-faves are highlighted with blue colour):

1.    Welcome to My World
2.    Angel
3.    Walking in My Shoes
4.    Precious
5.    Black Celebration
6.    Policy of Truth
7.    Should Be Higher
8.    Barrel of a Gun
9.    Higher Love (Martin)
10.  But Not Tonight (Acoustic) (Martin)
11.   Heaven
12.  Soothe My Soul
13.  A Pain That I’m Used To (Jacques Lu Cont’s Remix)
14.  A Question of Time
15.  Secret to the End
16.  Enjoy the Silence
17.  Personal Jesus ultimate classic!
18.  Goodbye
Encore:
19.  Home (Acoustic) – we were singing like the one…
20.  Halo (Goldfrapp Remix)
21.   Just Can’t Get Enough that was a HUGE surprise!!! DM blew us way with this one!
22.   I Feel You from my all-time favourite album ‘Songs of Faith and Devotion’; I could listen to this song non-stop!
23.   Never Let Me Down Again the hands!!!

P.S. the songs that were missing, as to me, – ‘Behind the Wheel‘, ‘In Your Room‘ and ‘Wrong‘ (in 2010, I had goosebumps listening to it)

HWfvo3sRAaI

Mrha3Ok77pA

Leave a Reply

