Prince. This is the Day When Doves Cry

I can’t believe it. Prince – one of the greatest artists, singer, songwriter, actor, 7 times Grammy winner, Oscar winner – has passed away today at just 57.

prince._SL1080_

 

 

I’ve listened to him since early childhood, always loved his songs & music videos (especially ‘When Doves Cry‘, ‘Cream‘, ‘Purple Rain‘, ‘Kiss‘) and dreamed of seeing him performing live someday. Now, a part of my childhood is gone with

It’s always hard to see your fave musicians, actors etc., who have been a part of your life for such a long time, go, but we can do nothing about that but bow to the inevitable…

R.I.P., the Legend! You’re gone but your music will live forever!

Prince has touched so many people: lots of well-known musicians say he influenced their music or inspired them in some way, and how many common people considered and still do Prince and his music an integral part of their lives. I am one of them. I can clearly remember when I first saw his music vids, my first was ‘Cream‘, and was instantly hooked on his music. As a child, you don’t care for looks of the artist much, what is important to you are music and interesting picture on the screen. All of that was IN EXCESS in Prince’s videos; so I became his super young admirer. Ever since, Prince’s music has been widely present in my life, especially after I saw ‘Purple Rain’ for which Prince got an Oscar in 1985. I can listen to the songs from it over and over again and never get bored. It was proved on Apr. 21 when I couldn’t stop watching Prince’s videos on VH1 for 6 hours in a row, and so watched ‘Purple Rain‘, ‘Cream‘, ‘When Doves Cry‘ and ‘Gold‘ at least 10 times each and could’ve listened to them even more if I didn’t need to go to sleep after such a hard day.

Oh, how I wish I’ve met Prince in person…but the closest I got to him was seeing his costume and guitar at the Hard Rock Cafe in Prague.

P.S. Check out our shirts’ patterns! The similarity wasn’t intended; I noticed that only when I looked at the photo after uploading it from my camera to the PC later that day:

DSC05726_2_copyright

Here’re some of my personal faves:

 

“I never meant to cause you any sorrow
I never meant to cause you any pain
I only wanted one time to see you laughing
I only want to see you laughing in the purple rain”

– ‘Purple Rain’

***

And the next song I’d like to present here – ‘Gold‘ – is one of the best feel-good songs, as for me. Always makes me happier when I listen to it. Perhaps, that’s thanks to a perfect combination of meaningful lyrics and positive and light sound. I always add it to my playlist when I need to cheer up a bit. I guess I’ll need it there for some time now…

“Everybody wants 2 sell what’s already been sold
Everybody wants 2 tell what’s already been told
What’s the use of money if you ain’t gonna break the mold?
Even at the center of fire there is cold
All that glitters ain’t gold”

– Prince ‘Gold’

***

***

It’s weird but exactly today a dove and then a young falcon were spotted sitting outside my window… Haven’t seen doves sitting on my air-conditioner outside for a while and never had I seen a falcon there, for sure! The falcon flew to my window and started crying exactly at the time of Prince’s passing, as it turned out. I’m not making this up! I’d just got home from work (that was sometime between 4-5 PM here in Kiev, and so around 10 AM in the USA) and I heard that noise, so when I went to the window to check what that was, I saw a beautiful young falcon, like this fella:

That was like some sign, really. Even though I found out about Prince not right away but only in 5 min. or so when opened People website to check the scoop, and the horrible news appeared there exactly the same moment.

So, when I got to grips, I just had to find this video and re-watch it:

***Update on Apr. 24, 2016*** Just imagine my shock when some days after his passing I found out from some article about Prince that he was flying between concerts on a plane, the name of which was ‘Falcon 990’!!!

Never seen this one before – ‘Batman’ OST:

The following video is here for a reason too; the song was also written by Prince:

Leave a Reply

